7 Winter Skin Care Tips

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

With the onset of winter comes dry, cracking skin. Especially during the cold, dry season, skin can become hard to manage. Over the years, I discovered a few easy tricks to stay moisturized during the season.

1. Switch out you moisturizer

The moisturizer you use during the winter may not have the same effect for you during the winter. Just as we have a winter and summer wardrobe, we should a winter and summer moisturizer. During the winter, I like to have a thicker and more hydrating lotion that can protect me from the dry, cold air. I prefer Shiseido Ibuki Refining Moisturizer. I apply this before I leave the house and brave the wintry climate.

Processed with VSCO

2. Get a Lip Balm

I know most of us use a lip balm all year long anyway, but it is especially important to moisturize your lips during the winter. The cold climate can easily make lips crack and bleed. My favorite is Burt’s Bees Moisturizing Lip Balm. This one I have is very moisturizing and also is tinted. Thank goodness for bring some color to my complexion!!

2016-12-14 05.41.21 1.jpg

3. Pat Pat Pat

After getting out of the shower or after cleansing, pat the water into your skin. Drying your face with a towel will strip your skin of moisture. By patting, you help your skin absorb the water and lock in moisture!

4. Try In-Shower Body Lotion

I know you hate the greasy feeling of body lotion. I HATE IT TOO!! The stickiness just make me so uncomfortable. I feel like in-shower body lotions are a great alternative. It keeps the skin moisturized without all of the greasiness.

20161214_182724.jpg

5. Hand Creams!

A lot of people don’t take notice of how much our hands suffer from winter exposure. We work, we write, we do chores. As a result, our hands often get stripped of moisture without our notice. Most creams are, again, too greasy for our comfort. Someone recommended Excipial Daily Protection Hand Cream. Although it is a bit expensive for hand cream, a little bit can go a long way!2016-12-14 05.36.24 1.jpg

6. Eye Cream

The skin around our eyes are extremely thin and delicate. Dry skin around the eyes can lead to premature wrinkles. To prevent it, I like to use eye cream a few times a week to help keep the skin around my eyes moisturized.  I don’t recommend the anti-aging creams if you do not really need it.

7. Night Creams

Just before I go to bed, I love applying just a little bit of night creme. Those 7-8 hours of sleep is the perfect time for the skin to replenish and recover from the day’s work.

20161214_184826.jpg

 

I hope that helps! If you have any other advice, comments, or questions, feel free to comment down below.

 

Leave a Reply

